Wednesday August 16 2017
January 14, 2014

Ballon d’Or : Emotional Ronaldo Accepts Award, Thanks ‘Wife’ – Plus Portraits Of Ribery, Messi, Neymar


When something you want so badly has eluded you completely and quite shatteringly, in recent years, you’d probably cry too. Just ask Cristiano Ronaldo, who finally picked up the Ballon d’Or trophy for the second time last night, after a long six year wait.

Sure, the Messi vs Ronaldo debate is great coffee-table talk, with valid arguments from all ends. However, his club performances and work rate at Real Madrid, coupled with his miraculous ‘Captain Portugal’ feat, which sent them to the World Cup, is surely worthy of his Ballon d’Or.  Indeed, one less Ballon d’Or will not change Lionel Messi’s levels of wizardry on the pitch.

It was an emotional acceptance speech for Cristiano, who also (mistakenly) referred to Irina Shayk, as his wife in English. Who cares if it’s a gaffe? Get married already guys- they’re a match made in futbol heaven!

“First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team. Without all their efforts it would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award. Everybody who have been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment.” – Ronaldo

ballondor 6

Meanwhile, German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer, picked up the FIFA Ballon d’or women’s prize, for her outstanding performance at the Euro 2013 tournament in Sweden. As expected, the boisterous Swede, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, picked up the FIFA Puskas Award for his screamer of a goal against England in November 2012.

Meanwhile, the Germans dominated the coaching honours. Jupp Heynckes, the former coach of Bayern Munich, and Germany’s women’s national team coach Silvia Neid, taking home the FIFA World Coach of the Year awards for men’s and women’s football respectively.

ballondor 5

The FIFA FIFPro World XI honours also went to the following all-star team:

Manuel Neuer (Germany) in goal; Dani Alves (Brazil), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Sergio Ramos (Spain) and Thiago Silva (Brazil) in defence; Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Franck Ribéry (France) and Xavi (Spain) in midfield; and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Zlatan Ibrahimovi? (Sweden) and Lionel Messi (Argentina).
Share this:

About Futbolita


  • Email

Add Comment