Women’s Football : Germany’s Nadine Angerer Favourite To Win Ballon d’Or Over Marta, Abby Wambach

    The Ballon d’Or female finalists were unveiled last week and Germany’s Nadine Angerer, Brazil’s Marta and USA’s Abby Wambach made the cut. All three ladies are phenomenal players and it must be also said that they each had a memorable year in football.

    Angerer who won the Euro 2013 with Germany this year, was also the first ever recipient of the UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award. That feat makes her a favourite to pick up next year’s Ballon d’Or in Zurich, although her list of victories speak for themselves.

    As summed up by Angerer’s teammate, Bianca Schmidt : “Nadine was our best player. She is the reason why we are European champions”.


    Meanwhile, five-time World Player of the Year award recipient Marta, cannot be discounted too. She led Swedish side Tyreso to the first UEFA Women’s Champions League quarter-final in their history.


    Reigning FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year, Abby Wambach, also became the first American recipient to receive the award in a decade last January. Wambach is a six-time winner of US Soccer’s Athlete of the Year award, and proclaims Mia Hamm to be her idol.

    “When I look in the mirror I don’t see a person who’s made the kind of impact that Mia Hamm made on the game. She’s still my idol, the greatest player and the greatest team-mate. She achieved so much in so many different ways. What she did for women’s soccer can’t be measured. She was happy for me, and now I can’t wait for someone to break my record,” – Wambach.

    Related articles

    LaLiga rebrands with new logo

    LaLiga, the top professional football league in Spain, has unveiled a new logo and brand identity. The new logo is a bold and modern design that reflects the passion, excitement, and global reach of...

    Women’s World Cup 2023 lineup complete

    The line-up for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is now complete with Haiti, Portugal, and Panama booking their spots at this year’s tournament in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand following success at the...

    adidas launches the L10NEL M35SI Pack which celebrates 35 years of greatness

    On 21 February, adidas unveiled the L10NEL M35SI Pack, celebrating Lionel Messi’s legacy in football. At 35 years old and fresh off having won his first World Cup, El Diez (Number 10) continues to make history,...

    Under-20 World Cup Indonesia Update

    Born as a 16-team tournament in 1977, the biennial FIFA U-20 World Cup brings together some of the most talented youngsters the world of football has to offer, as they compete to be crowned...

    Thank you for 10 million views for Futbolita on TikTok!

    We're delighted to have amassed 10 million views over the last two months on TikTok alone from our coverage of the FIFA World Cup and AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup. Thank you for your support,...

    Latest articles